travel

An oasis in a bustling city

A lot has happened since I last blogged, my time was up at the school where I was volunteering and it was an amazing experience. Even though I was not there for long the teachers and students I have met made an impact on my life. The school threw a farewell party with lots of food, gifts and karaoke. I was forced to sing and dance like a performing circus monkey. I loved it. I will never forget the kindness and generosity of the people in the Phanom District in the south of Thailand.

The other thing that happened down south in Thailand was that my laptop crashed and I picked up the flu on my last night there. I flew out to Bangkok over the weekend and have been fighting off this virus and recovering slowly. Finally managed to find a place to live for the next 6 months and I am almost fully recovered. I have been exploring Bangkok like a woman possessed. There was not much to do in Phanom and I am making up for lost time and where better to go than a beautiful park to escape the hustle and bustle of the city.

Lumphini Park is situated in the business district of Silom and Sathorn and is used by people for exercising such as running or cycling or just relaxing on the grass with a cold drink. Watch out for lizards though, they are everywhere and roam freely.

DSCF5998

DSCF5988

DSCF5990

 

 

Standard

One thought on “An oasis in a bustling city

Leave a Reply

