adventures, travel

Day one: Hua Hin, Thailand

I was not bowled over by most of what I saw in Bangkok so was more than ready to head off to Hua Hin, a beach resort town. After a very bumpy 3 hours later I was ready to pack my bags and go home. Arriving in Hua Hin things did not look too promising but after checking in and being taken to the mall I started to feel better. A mall of all places seemed to provide me with a sense of familiarity. I hate malls. Yet here I am comforted by its cool interior. A quick trip to the bank and Tesco store which is like a Pick n Pay and I was all set with renewed vigour. This was not to be the highlight of my day though.

Upon arriving at The Centennial, where I will be staying this month whilst doing my TEFL course, I got to speaking to the some of the girls from the November class and they gave the December class (my class) some helpful tips on what to expect. They also agreed to take us out the evening as one of the girls boyfriend is lead singer in a blues band and she also sings occasionally. It was eventually nine of us in total who first went for supper at this amazing Indian restaurant called S&S Indian Restaurant in 94 Soi, Hua Hin, Thailand. As I am still missing home I opted for the butter chicken which was just what I needed. After that we headed downtown to a place called Cantaloupe Island, a restaurant/bar/jazz, blues and late night music venue. The band was excellent, the company great and this was a great introduction to nightlife in Hua Hin.

I think I am going to like my month in Hua Hin, every moment of the day seems to be filled with something. Tomorrow I’ve got a Muay Thai session to look forward to as well as celebrating the Kings birthday a national holiday.

Standard

One thought on “Day one: Hua Hin, Thailand

Leave a Reply

