Uncategorized

How to become a writer

The title of this post is misleading. I haven’t a clue on how to become a writer. I read writing blogs regularly for advice and tips and the only advice I really follow is to write often. I can see over time how my writing has evolved and progressed.

I am studying creative writing and recently completed my first writing portfolio. Today I received my marked portfolio back from the university and below are my lectuters comments:
On my book reviews: “Fine critical writing”
On my poems: “Good metaphors, effective ambiguity”
On my original young adult short story: “Very entertaining, intriguing fantasy with a good ending”
On my play: “Very good drama with interesting plot, good dialogue and conflict depiction and a good ending”
On top of all this I will be writing for the newly created travel section of a South African website. I am very excited about what the future may hold for me and I feel extremely blessed. None of this would have been possible if I didn’t actively pursue my dreams.

Standard

6 thoughts on “How to become a writer

  1. Sabine says:

    Shaheena go on! You will be a good, a really good writer!!! I promise it 🙂
    A friend of mine sent her storys to some publisher. All said: NO! Now she has an own website and is successful! Lot’s of downloads 🙂

Leave a Reply

