Life

Idiosyncrasy

An idiosyncrasy can be described as an unusual feature of a person. It also means odd habit. The term is often used to express eccentricity or peculiarity.  A synonym may be a quirk. 

Growing up I was always encouraged to be different, not to follow the social norms and to follow my dreams no matter what. I was never outwardly a rebellious child but one the inside I was silently rebelling. Listening to Rock and Classical music instead of only RnB and Rap like all the other kids is but one example. I wasn’t trying to be something else I just simply was.

However the pressure of fitting in and doing the right thing started weighing down heavily on me in my early 20’s. I studied sensible subjects/courses in the hopes of securing a stable and sensible job so that I would be able to sensibly settle down with a bond, car payments all before th age of 30. Well nothing really went according to the original plan and the reason this plan was doomed to fail was because I was doing things to please others. I was being who I thought I was supposed to be and who I thought they wanted me to be.

I feel really fortunate and blessed that I am finally able to follow one of my dreams which is to work in a foreign country. The past few years was rough. I endured loss and heartache and there were moments when I thought there was never going to be light at the end of the tunnel. I am finally in a space where I don’t care what other think of me and it feels as though a weight has been lifted from my shoulders.

I am going to embrace my idiosyncrasies as these are the things that make me unique. A close friend told me recently that she feels her body is not perfect. She feels she needs to measure up to what the media is telling us what all women should look like. To which I replied you are perfect because there is only one version of you. I will never lose sight of myself again or the small things in life that brings me joy. People must stop calling me brave we are all capable of more than we know.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Idiosyncrasy

Leave a Reply

