fashion, Life

Too little, too late?

I’ve always been a hard worker. I worked full-time and studied part-time in order to achieve my goals. Working your way up the ladder in the fashion industry is not easy. You have to pay your dues. It is not the glamorous world that tv shows and films depict. Not only is it hard work but sucking up and socializing with the higher-ups will speed up the process. I am not the sucking kind so this has hampered my progress. I feel that working hard and believing in your self is what gets one ahead. A bit naive but there it is.

About a year ago however I made a surprising discovery. I started writing and realised that I loved it and would love to be able to pursue a career that allow me to do this. I always made a decision to travel as the bug bit me hard after my trip last year to Spain and Turkey. So I then made the decision to quit my job to travel and teach English in Thailand. This will be my base to visit the surrounding countries and friends who have invited me to visit them across Europe. I am excited and nervous at the same time. I have never done anything like this. I’m a homebody and prefer staying in and being around family and a few close friends. I am definitely stepping way out of my comfort zone but feel I need extra inspiration to kick-start my writing.

So life changing  decision made and plane ticket booked and then about a month ago I get a call from one of South Africa’s biggest fashion retailers based in Johannesburg asking me if I would be interested in a Shoe Buyer position. This was a position I have coveted for years and a few months ago I would have jumped at the opportunity. I declined and did not give it another thought. Then this week I received a phone call from another fashion retailer this one based in Durban wanting to know if I would be interested in a Sourcing Manager position. Again I had to decline but then I started wondering what does this mean? Should I take it as a sign to stay or should I ignore these distracting temptations? I feel it is a case of too little too late, where were these headhunters when I really needed them? I am following a completely different career path now and it feels right and at this stage I need to follow my gut instincts and go overseas as planned.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Too little, too late?

    • thanks fede, in my heart i feel i still need to go – just a pity these opportunities came so late, but i’m sure if i come back i could approach Edgars and Mr Price again

Leave a Reply

