Uncategorized

Idiocracy – the dumbing down of the English language

This is not a rant about people’s use of incorrect spelling or grammar or that dreaded apostrophe – your and you’re – I really don’t care anymore. Some people just choose to be stupid and who am I to judge. Instead I am always amazed at how people do not use ‘big’ English words anymore. I know that sometimes when I speak and use a ‘big’ word I am met with blank stares. I think the joy of using the English language has left  the building for most people. Below is a list of words that I have used in the past month – don’t even try to wonder about the context of my conversations.

Necrophilia – sexual attraction for or sexual intercourse with dead bodies

Ornithology – a branch of zoology that concerns the study of birds

Quantify – to determine or express the quantity of something

Derelict – neglectful of duty; delinquent; negligent

Evoke –  to summon or call forth, to call to mind by naming, citing,

Emphatic – 1. uttered, or to be uttered, with emphasis; strongly expressive. 2. using emphasis in speech or action. 3. forceful; insistent.

So you see, a plethora of words yet not often used. So release the inner geek and don’t be afraid to use those ‘big’ words.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Idiocracy – the dumbing down of the English language

  1. Did you watch that movie, Idiocracy?? Gosh, that is the scariest movie I’ve ever seen. (I first watched it about 5 years ago or something… but every summer I come back to the states, I see more and more of that movie within my culture. OY!!!!!)

Leave a Reply

