Life, travel

The curious case of human beings

Human beings. We really are strange creatures. I say this because I am amazed at some of the responses I have received about leaving to go and work overseas. Here are some of the responses I have received that have surprised me.

“Why would you give up a permanent job with benefits at a good company?”

I do understand in these tough economic times one must hold onto good jobs but at what cost? Besides no job is really secure if my company should decide to downsize and retrench my department then there is nothing I can do about that. I will be leaving my company on good terms and would be able to apply for a job here again should I decide to return.

“Isn’t it dangerous to go there?”

This one really bugs me because as amazing as South Africa is it is not always the safest and one always has to be cautious. So it stands to reason I would be cautious no matter where I am or go. I would never go walking alone down a dark alley at 2am, that’s just a no-brainer.

“You’re a female. Are you going to travel alone?”

Solo female travellers are more common than you think and there is one in particular who has inspired me. Read more AdventurousKate here.

“You must have a lot of money to be able to go overseas.”

This one is almost offensive. I take the bus to work and no longer have a car by choice. I don’t need to worry about car payments, insurance, maintenance or petrol. I have moved in with a family member where I live practically rent free but I have to share the room and space with others. I do not go out for supper or even coffee with friends much because I have a goal I am working towards. These are some of the sacrifices I am making. My patience and preparation is going to pay off in the long run.

“What if you don’t like it/what if it doesn’t work out?”

Firstly this type of negative thinking does not even enter my mind. I do understand that I need to prepared for this which is why months of planning and preparations has gone into this decision. If things do not work out then all I do is come back home but not before spending 6 months travelling South East Asia.

“I wish I could also just go overseas and travel.”

Anyone can do what I am going to do. Thousands have done it before me and thousands will do it after me. It’s all about priorities. Many people’s priorities are to climb a career ladder, start a family or buy a house then it stands to reason you will do everything in your power to achieve just that.

“You’re single and don’t have children so of course you can travel.”

I read a lot of travel blogs and there are lots of people who travel with their children and do all their work online. Technology has made this possible. Again it’s all about priorities. You have to ask yourself what is important to you and what are you prepared to do about it.

“Why would you want to leave Cape Town?”

I love my city and I love my country and can’t really imagine myself living anywhere else but this world is big and needs to be explored. I just feel that it is something that I need to do now and came across this quote this week that I felt was appropriate: “Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there see you differently too. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.” – Terry Pratchett.

Standard

Leave a Reply

