Uncategorized

Before and after and before again

Well now that my cellphone is in for repairs I’m going to see how long I can last without one. I must be honest I am not missing it that much but it’s still early days and I’ll see how I feel after a week. I must say I am rather dependant on my phone, my whole life is on there as some people might say but maybe the break from it will do me good. This co-dependant relationship I have with technology can be a bit unhealthy sometimes.

I remember a time when if people couldn’t get hold of you on your landline they just had to keep trying.

I remember a time when only an elite few actually had answering machines and cellphones, now even 8 year olds have cellphones.

I remember a time when I actually bought phone cards to be used at public phone booths.

I remember a time when I knew phones numbers by heart.

I remember a time when if you went out with anyone you had their full attention – no beeping distractions.

I remember a time when people didn’t seem to talk to themselves whilst walking in the streets. Wireless headsets has made it hard to distinguish between normal people and the crazies.

I remember a time when phones were only used to phone people. Computers were used to send emails and internet, cameras were used to take pictures and Walkman’s were used to listen to music.

Standard

Leave a Reply

