Life

Top 10 tips for decluttering

It’s a well-known fact that we only use 20% of our things 80% of the time ,this is a small part of what is known as Pareto’s Principal. I hate clutter, this however might not be evident to the casual observer (although my desk at work is pretty tidy), but at home it’s a completely different case as I seem to thrive in chaos, well used to. I used to be a major hoarder but years of constantly moving has made it easy for me to be able to let go of things. I feel free and much lighter after a good declutter session – it’s very liberating. I also have more time as I spend less time rifling through my things to find what I am looking for. Set some time aside to do this, even if it’s only 10 minutes everyday until you have gotten rid of what you don’t need or you can make a day of it.

  1. I think I’ve said this before – if you don’t use it then get rid of it. Especially if you haven’t used it in the past 6 months.
  2. For every new purchase get rid of something else that you don’t use. In fact the rule is that for every one new item, you have to throw out 2 old items.
  3. Don’t purchase anything you don’t really need to begin with. Who knows maybe if you sort through your things you might find you already have that one thing that you are wanting to buy.
  4. Donate or recycle – not only are you streamlining your home and life but you also doing some good. I’ve got tons of books that I have already read and am planning on donating it to the hospice.
  5. Start with one area or room so that you do not feel overwhelmed.
  6. File away important mail and bills immediately so that they don’t become unsightly piles in the living room or bedroom.
  7. Keeping the clutter at bay should be ongoing process and must become habit.
  8. Encourage family and friends to do the same. Have a get together and swap the things you don’t use for things that you need.
  9. Go paperless. Think ebooks and downloading mp3’s and movies.
  10. Just remember material things do not bring joy!

Be prepared to get dusty, sneeze and to hear yourself saying “Hmm, didn’t know I still had this” often. Minimalism isn’t just a fad, we should all be conscious of how wasteful we are as well as trying to reduce our carbon foot print as much as possible.

Standard

Leave a Reply

