Life, movies, travel

Letter to my Soulmate

Dear Soulmate

Did you know that there are over 7 billion people in this world spread across 196 countries? Well I just thought you should know that. I also want to ask your forgiveness as I realise that I have some unrealistic expectations of you.

Forgive me for assuming that you live in the road/neighbourhood/town/city/country that I live in.

Forgive me for assuming that we have the same religion.

Forgive me for assuming that we speak the same language.

Forgive me for assuming we are the same ethnicity.

Forgive me for assuming that you are a member of the opposite sex.

Forgive me for assuming that we will meet in our 20’s have a big white wedding and then promptly proceed to move into our home with its lovely white picket fences.

Forgive me for not waiting for you and deciding to be with someone, anyone because I do not want to feel lonely.

Forgive me for not choosing solitude to work on my happiness and personal growth so that when we do meet I will already be the best of me.

Forgive me for having a list of what I think you should look like and be like.

Forgive me for not opening myself up to opportunities so that I can find and meet you.

Forgive me for watching too many romantic films as it has skewed my perception of what and who you are.

Forgive me for thinking that we are destined to spend the rest of our lives together.

Forgive me for thinking that you are the answer to all my problems.

I know that despite my ignorance you will forgive me because you understand me completely.

Love Always,

Me

People think a soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants. But a true soul mate is a mirror, the person who shows you everything that is holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change your life. – Elizabeth Gilbert, journalist and author of Eat, Pray Love

Images: www.weheartit.com/

Standard

Leave a Reply

