Life, travel

The Reluctant Nomad

I moved around a lot as a child, by a lot I mean I’ve lived in over 20 different places . I must add that I have always hated it. I am someone who craves stability  and whilst growing up and all I wanted was to stay in one place long enough to put down some roots. As I was quiet and shy growing up I found it hard to make friends and the constant upheaval of packing up and moving on to the next place made this so much harder.

However as much as I hated moving all the time I have now done it so often that I have gotten used to it and for the first time in years I am seeing the positives that this taught me.

  • I have learnt that home is not a place where you have lived for over 20 years but the family and friends who are a part of your life. Home is a feeling.
  • I do not own a lot of material things nor do I attach value to it – the less things I have to cart around the better.
  • I do not get emotionally attached to any new place which makes moving onto the next one easy.
  • I am always appreciative of the roof over my head. Why complain about moving when I actually still have a place to live? There are people less fortunate than me.

I am hoping that these life lessons will stand me in good stead when I embark on my next travelling adventure.

Images courtesy of: weheartit.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

