fashion, Life

Death of an office employee

Maybe it’s because I’ve got plans to travel or that I’ve found my true passion or quite possibly the fact that I do not like what I do for a living anymore. In the beginning it all seemed so glamorous, a career in fashion! In the beginning I was naive and starry-eyed. Now? Jaded, disillusioned, bored, frustrated and quite frankly miserable. Every morning it’s a battle of wills just to get out of bed. Somehow I manage to get ready and drag my poor battered soul to work when all I want to do at that stage is crawl back into bed and curl into a foetal position.

I bet you can already sense that today at the office was not a good day. I’d love to say it was some new problem that arose for me to solve, but alas it’s just a case of same shit different day. I love how management conveniently suffers from what can only be described as selective amnesia. I’m not sure if I must be happy that I at least don’t work in a cubicle and that our office is open plan; although a cubicle gives you the unique advantage of hiding from and evading people and my personal favourite surfing the internet undetected.

So it’s Monday blues on top of the fact that the Bike festival I was looking forward to got cancelled, I had to cancel surfing this weekend past due to the weather, lack of waves and sharks and I spent 2 hours at a wedding yesterday (where dancing and fun is frowned upon) waiting for the bride to make her appearance. To make matters worse I have to move from where I am living now, happy house hunting I guess.

I realise the older I get the less patience and tolerance I have to BS (that’s bullshit for those who are acronym-challenged). Quite frankly I’m allergic to it. I’m just glad I have things to look forward to otherwise my life would have been really bleak. I just hate being in limbo. One foot out the door and one firmly still stuck at work because I’ve still got to study and save. There  I vented and feel so much better already.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Death of an office employee

  1. I guess I’m not alone… or maybe this is a phase everyone goes through at one point in their 20s. Sometimes it’s like there is a thick brick wall stoping me from where I need to go or want to go..if I ever figure out where the heck that is… Good luck to ya.

Leave a Reply

