adventures, Books, travel

English Please

Andy is the crazy Brit I met on my travels. Upon discovering that me and my friend were the only South Africans (hence forth known as the Saffers) staying at the hostel he thoughtfully shared with us the vilest SA profanity that he was taught. It’s not pretty so I cannot share it with you here. And when I say share I mean he would scream it loudly wherever we happened to be: bus, subway, club, etc. Thankfully no one understood what he was saying and I taught him another swear word just for him to take a break from the aforementioned one.

He also had us believing that he’s a sheep farmer. He was almost always drunk. But he also extremely hilarious and fun to be around. After helping us get home on our first night in Barcelona he wanted to see our room as it was one of the only private rooms in the hostel. I’m not sure if what happened next was funny or annoying (probably a bit of both). He got undressed and got into one of the beds and refused to leave. No matter how much we cajoled, begged, shouted he remained unphased by it all and actually asked us to only speak in “English please.” We of course were speaking English as it’s our first language.

The United Kingdom is quite low on my list of countries I want to travel to but it got bumped up after this trip. We met quite a few other travellers from the UK (sane ones) and everyone was really friendly. The added bonus would be that everyone speaks English and that I wouldn’t have to worry about a language barrier.

Ireland – Giant’s Causeway

Wales – Since 1988, Hay-on-Wye has been the venue for a literary festival, which draws +/- 80,000 visitors over ten days at the beginning of June to see and hear big literary names from all over the world. This would be any avid reader’s wet dream.

Scotland – Edinburgh Castle

London – (I do realise that there is more to England and the UK than just this one city)

Standard

3 thoughts on “English Please

  1. I had quite a laugh when reading about this drunken Englishman. They do seem to make traveling a bit more entertaining. He was so extreme that it made it simple for you let you hair down. 🙂 Thanks for sharing, youre a great writer. What type of camera are you using?

    • Lol, he sure made for an interesting stay. I use a nikon camera but I also edit some of my photos using picnik.com. Have been looking at some of the pics on your blog, looks like you are having a grand old time.

Leave a Reply

