Life

Bite off more than you can chew

It’s just a simple fact that I function better when I am
under pressure. My tendency to procrastinate feeds this functionality of mine.
I also tend to get bored easily and need constant mental stimulation. This is
probably why I need do revision at home and instead will rely on my ability to
recall what I have learnt in class and studying the night before an exam or
test. This is how I passed my motorbike learners license test this Saturday and
most likely how I will prepare for my Italian exam that is happening in 2
weeks.

So next year should be interesting as I am planning to
tackle ten 1st year subjects for my BA in languages and literature –
have I bitten off more than I can chew? Too soon to tell. I do however know
that my brain will turn into mush if I am not learning something new all the
time. This prompted me to find a native Italian I can practise with on a weekly
basis so that I don’t forget what I have learnt, Italian is not exactly the
most practical language to learn and the only country really speak it is in
Italy.  It is nonetheless beautiful to
hear and speak.

I am still undecided if I should learn a new language for
2012 (I am tempted to learn German but a friend of mine leaning more towards
Spanish) or if I should pick up where I left off with my guitar lessons.
Somehow I also need to squeeze in motorbike lessons as I want to get my
driver’s license as soon as possible so that I can scooter around Cape Town.
There is sometimes a downside to all this flurry of activity – I am not immune
to abandoning a new hobby or interest (soccer, Mandarin Chinese, jewellery
making are but a few) without a second thought. On the upside there are so many
things that I have been able to tick off my bucket list so I do not have any
real regrets. Biting off more than I can chew gets me out of my comfort zone.

So 2012, I’ll be seeing you soon and cannot wait for us to be
formally introduced.

Standard

Leave a Reply

