Money

How to save R1000 every month

Part of getting out of debt and saving money is to spend less and live frugally. Too often I have wasted money on unnecessary things, I am not a major spender (in fact I don’t like shopping) but I do tend to spend without thinking or realising that it all adds up.

How many of us cannot survive without that morning cuppa joe or chai? Or buy lunch at work everyday? Below I’ll give you some perspective of how easily we all waste money. Some of us might not buy lunch at work everyday but many of us do.

1 coffee R20 + lunch R30 = R50 x 5 days = R250 x 4 weeks = R1000 x 12 months in a year = R12 000 (which is how much my holiday to Spain and Turkey cost me!!!)

I have challenged myself to pack in lunch for work everyday or at least to have everything I need to make my own lunch at work. Day 1 was successful. I’m also going to start a money journal where everyday I will write down how much I spent and this in turn will show me where I am wasting money

If you really can’t live without your coffee, buy yourself a jar of the best instant coffee out there and once a week treat yourself with coffee from your favorite cafe.

VS

Standard

One thought on “How to save R1000 every month

  1. Pingback: Scrooge vs Grinch « circa1982

Leave a Reply

