fashion

17 Again

Please note that this post does not refer to the Zac Efron movie. Do not bother scrolling down any further as there will be no topless pictures of Zac Efron.

I don’t believe in having regrets, things happen for a reason and this has helped shape the person I became. If I did however get a do-over there would be a few things I would have done differently especially with regards to my career. I feel the school system and sometimes parents are ill-equipped to guide high schoolers onto the correct career path. Today most people have more than one career anyway so it is absurd to think that a young and naive 17 year old knows what they want to be when they grow up. For those of us who didn’t spend our days dreaming about becoming doctors or astronauts or knowing exactly what we wanted to be, we were pretty much lost in a labyrinth of choices.

Those career ‘tests’ they make you take can be misleading even more so when you are still trying to figure out who you are . Because they have our best interest at heart adults also tend to steer you away from a career in the arts as they are worried that you will have no job stability/security. A career in fashion does not mean a life as a struggling up and coming designer nor does a passion for the Arts mean that you are doomed to be a starving writer/painter. There is a plethora of options out there from Fabric Technologist to Copywriter to Graphic designer so we must not discourage anyone from doing what they are drawn to.

Just imagine what we would be capable of if we were all encouraged from a very age to follow our dreams no matter how obscure and to nurture our talents? I’m not blaming anyone  for the fact that it took me years to not only discover what I truly love but also to have the confidence to pursue these dreams and not caring what anyone least of all society thinks. Yes, we all need to make a living to survive but I believe now more than ever that I have to do things that brings me joy and happiness. I cannot waste another year, month, week, day or even a minute of my life on things that simply do not matter to me.

We spend so many hours of our lives at work that it is our duty to ensure it is spent doing something we care about and to surround ourselves with like-minded people to inspire us. I challange all my readers to think back to the last time they were truly happy and do whatever it is to get that feeling back.

Standard

Leave a Reply

