adventures, Life, travel

The friendship fluff piece

As a loner I much prefer doing things on my own and wasn’t sure if going overseas with a friend was a good idea. These doubts were based on me knowing what type of person I am and not being sure how me and Nats would get along for 2 weeks in foreign countries.

That being said I honestly do not think I could have chosen a better person to have travelled with, somehow we just complemented each other, me being super organised and having an internal GPS system (we did get lost a few times but always managed to find our way home) and Nats being very easy-going and the calm centre at the eye of the storm. Of course it wasn’t all peaches and cream and I think both of us just bit our tongues when one of us annoyed the other but we also gave each other space and privacy when we needed it. Money was also never an issue, everything was split 50/50. Sometimes I would pay for something or she would pay but we never argued about who paid for what and I think that was very important and would have been a deal breaker if either of us were penny-pinchers.

It’s amazing how similar yet completely different we are from each other but this trip allowed us to get to know each other even better and has changed us both and opened a whole new world to us. Days were spent exploring and after a night out we would talk about our dreams and plans for the future. From both of us being über conservative I now believe we will open ourselves up to more opportunities by taking more risks, talking to strangers and making new friends. And now we have Croatia May 2012 to look forward to, meeting up with friends we made on this trip for my birthday next year.

Standard

Leave a Reply

