Humorous, Life

Don’t you just hate it when

you get phone calls from cellphone providers trying to sell you a contract. I’ve already sold my soul once to these blood sucking leeches, why would I punish myself again? I get a call like this at least once a week and it goes like this:

Cellphone Provider (hereafter known as CP): Good day, is this Miss Links?

SL: Yes? ( I answer cautiously)

CP: Can I have a few minutes of your time?

SL: Erm not really I’m very busy at work

CP: Don’t worry Miss this will only take a minute (Lies, all lies)

CP: I’m calling from T mobile and I’d like to tell you about our amazing offer that you and only 11 other people in the country have qualified for (More lies).

SL: OK?

CP: For only R179 p/m you will receive a brand new Nokia with 5mp camera (erm hello my current phone is 10mp) as well as R1 000 Game vouchers (as if I ever shop at Game) and a really neat key chain (who are these people trying to kid?)

SL: I’ve already got a cellphone contract, thanks.

CP: But you always need another.

SL: Not really.

CP: May I ask which network you are with?

SL: MTN.

CP: How much are you currently paying and what does your current package offer you?

SL: I’d rather not say, that’s personal.

CP: Well Miss I’m sure we can top what you currently getting.

SL: Look I’m happy with what I have.

CP: I understand but for R179 you get free minutes, sms bundles, data bundles.

SL: I really can’t afford that. (Who does this guy think he is? my financial advisor?)

CP: It’s not alot of money, you’ll gain so much more (really persistent and getting agitated with me)

At this point I’m ready to slam the phone down but remain polite as I have family and friends who work in call centres and I know how hard it can be. That being said I really do need to terminate this call.

SL: Thank you so much for your time and the call but at this stage I cannot commit myself to spending more money on a phone and contract that I don’t need. Enjoy the rest of your day.

And then I realise I’m listening to a dial tone, CP has already hung up and I’m like WTF!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Don’t you just hate it when

  1. sheena says:

    You should have disconnected the call after the first sales pitch. LOL when i read this….a perfect descriprion of what such calls are like. The same applies for life insurance, funeral cover, gym membership, insurance cover……ect….ect. Polite doesn’t always pay so be firm……

  2. Michelle says:

    I SOO HATE IT WHEN THEY BUG US ALL THE TIME……… THE FACT THAT WE SAID NO THE FIRST TIME SHOULD BE A HINT THAT WE NOT INTERESTED AT ALL LOL.

  3. Pingback: Don’t you just hate it when « circa1982

Leave a Reply

