Dance, movies

Do not try this at home

Ok so I went through this really bad phase when all I watched were dance movies. All the Step Up’s, Fame, Make it happen, Centre stage, You got served, Save the last dance and some other titles I can’t even think of right now. Obviously after watching movies like this all you wanna then do is dance.

This then inspired me to go for dance classes, I asked around and a colleague of mine mentioned that she goes to hip hop dance classes at the Waterfront Theatre School. Didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would, it was a great workout but felt restricted as I had to follow the instructors steps when all I wanted to do is break free and freestyle. Isn’t that what hip hop dancing is all about? And it felt a little like ballet, still I would have gone back but classes starts so late and most days I wouldn’t have been able to make it.

Then as a birthday gift to my best friend I signed us up for a dance worshop which included pole dancing, zumba and cabaret. It was loads of fun and I now have a new found respect for strippers and pole dancers. You’ve got to be extremely fit to be able to do this and look sexy. It also takes alot of skill and hardwork as I found out when after the first few steps I was panting like a dog, practically collapsed and turned into a human puddle (seriously not very attractive). I would have had any man running miles after showing him my “routine” and was so grateful when it all came to an end. We did our cabaret dance routine after this which at least involved a chair allowing me to catch me breath and sneak in a few puffs from my asthma pump.

Still it was money well spent as they also provide snacks and beverages in between dance session. And because I’m a sucker for punishment I think I might sign up for Latin dance classes or tap dancing. I haven’t tried it yet and then I’ll be able to tick it off my bucket list cos nobody puts Baby in a corner.

http://www.dance4fitness.co.za/

And no this is not me in these pictures

Standard

4 thoughts on “Do not try this at home

  1. Pingback: Less than half a bucket « circa1982

Leave a Reply

