fashion, languages, Life, travel

Career crossroads

Back in high school you basically brainwashed into thinking you can do and be anything. Yes my guidance counseller was right about all the opportunites out there. But nobody really guides into making an informed decision. Everyone is all about “If you can dream it, you can be it” Guys that’s not helping.

The problem that I’m faced with today and quite possibly many other young adults is that we are spoilt for choice. There are just so many things one can become how exactly does one decide. Even after doing personality tests to see which career you would be best suited for, some of the suggestions doesn’t seem like anything you would want to do.

At the moment I’m torn between staying in Fashion Retail (the current industry I’m working in) – I love fashion and got years of experience.

Working for a fashion magazine – I love magazines and writing. Could read since I was 4 years old.

Teaching languages  – I love languages and am currently learning Italian. Last year I did beginner’s Mandarin Chinese. And I bought myself some German CD’s.

Being a tour/travel guide – my sandboarding guide gave me ‘ a day in the life of’ and I was intrigued. After taking us sandboarding he had another group of people who he was taking skydiving. I’m definitely brave and adventurous to do something like that. and come on who doesn’t love to travel. See new place. Meet new people.

I’m almost 30 and I still feel confused. Is it possible to do it and have it all? And telling me to turn my hobby into a career is not helping. Quarter life crises are not fun and seeing so many other successful people who look as if they love what they doing makes me wonder if there is something wrong with me. And how long can I still keep saying “I’m young and there’s plenty of time”?

A major career change will also be difficult. I might have study again or start at the bottom of the ladder to gain experience.

My last resort is going to be me consulting a magic 8-ball for the answer to my life’s questions.

Standard

Leave a Reply

